Commonwealth Chess Championship 2016

The Indian Chess contingent of over 65 players performed extra ordinary well to win 28 medals out of possible 49 with the Open and Women Championships at the Commonwealth Chess Championship 2016. Grand Master, Abhijeet Gupta had a great tournament to score unbeaten 8 points out of possible 9 games to win the Commonwealth Chess Championship 2016 as well. He was the Champion at the Commonwealth Chess Championship 2015 at New Delhi Last year. Grand Master, Narayn Sunil Duth finished half a point less, 7 1/2 points to urn the 2nd place. Grand Master Deepan Chukrawarthy won the 3rd place with 7 points on the better tie breaker after tying with 7 more players.International Master Tania Suchdev won the Commonwealth Women Chess Championship with 7 points and WGM Mary Ann Gomes and WGM Kiran Manisha Mohanty won the 2nd and 3rd places respectively.

Sri Lanka also did a great fight winning 15 Golds with 2 gold, 6 Silver and 7 Bronze medals to be the 2nd in the medal tally. This was the most stronger event the Chess Federation of Sri Lanka organized in Sri Lanka. A total of 350 players from 10 Countries, Australia, Bangladesh, Canada, England, India, Maldives, Malaysia, Pakistan, South Africa and Sri Lanka participated in this event which was organized in the grand manner at Citrus Waskaduwa, the beautiful resort Hotel. There were several Age Group categories such as over 60 Senior, Under 8, 10, 12,14, 16, 18 and 20 years Boys and girls. The list of winners attached. The closing Ceremony was held under the presence of Mr. Luxman Wijesuriya, General Secretary of the Commonwealth Chess Association as Chief Guest.

13873026_1038059026242792_7103819073759943209_n 13895463_1038058646242830_1881397162041522736_n 13924886_1038058509576177_2246381064928154732_n CCC_PD_1A CCC_PD_1B

You may also like...